The Governance of the Property is made up of the representatives of the Institutions involved in the government of the territory on which the World Heritage Property of Rome stands. Furthermore, the Rome site includes a series of properties under the jurisdiction of the Holy See that enjoy the privilege of extraterritoriality and therefore its management involves aspects of international law.

For this purpose, over the years, collegial governing bodies have been established in which the representation of all parties involved was guaranteed: the agreement concluded between Italy and the Holy See on February 18, 1984, in art. 12 expressly provides for a collaboration for the protection of cultural heritage, establishing that “The Holy See and the Italian Republic, in their respective order, collaborate for the protection of the historical and artistic heritage”

Currently, the Governing Body is represented by the Gruppo di Coordinamento Transfrontaliero (Cross-border Coordination Group), which coordinates the protection of the cross-border site by monitoring it. At international level it works as a liaison body with the Centre and the World Heritage Committee, for through the Focal Points, designated by the two Parties, and the Permanent Delegations of Italy and the Holy See to UNESCO.

Members of the Group are the delegations of the two Parties, made up of their respective Focal Points and the representatives of the Governorate of the Vatican City State, the Vatican Museums, the APSA, the Regional Secretariat of the MiBAC for Lazio, the territorial offices of the MiBACT (SSABP of Rome, PAColosseo, PAAppia Antica), of the Lazio Region (Regional Directorate for Culture and Creative Lazio and Regional Directorate for Housing Policies and Territorial, Landscape and Urban Planning) and of the Capitoline Superintendence for Cultural Heritage of Municipality of Rome.

The Group is chaired by the Director of Vatican Museums and the secretarial functions are assigned to the UNESCO Site Office at the Capitoline Superintendence for Cultural Heritage – Valorisation Management

Referent Subject: Mr. Claudio Parisi Presicce, Rome’s Superintendent for Cultural Heritage

2009-2015Technical Scientific Committee (Comitato Tecnico-Scientifico), established pursuant to the Memorandum of Understanding signed on 23rd September 2009 between the Municipality of Rome, the Lazio Region, the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism and the Vicariate of Rome, later extended to representatives of the Holy See
Transboundary Coordination Group (Gruppo di Coordinamento Transfrontaliero), established in accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding between Italy and the Holy See of 26th November 2015 (Doc. 2) and with the Memorandum of Understanding between the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism, the Lazio Region and the Municipality of Rome approved by Rome’s Government with Deliberation no. 297 of 28th December 2017 (Doc. 3).(Link ai documenti)